Marie Claire Celebrates The Winners Of The 2024 Sustainability Awards

Celebrating the brands, companies and people who are doing things differently

On Thursday 6th June, marie claire took over Bondi favourite Seans, to celebrate the winners of the 2024 marie claire Sustainability Awards in partnership with VOLVO.

Celebrating the brands, companies and people who are doing things differently and helping our planet one sustainable act at a time, the awards honoured 28 nominees across seven different categories including, fashion, accessories, beauty health and wellness, home and lifestyle, parenting, food and drink and travel.

Joined by the four judges, marie claire editor Georgie Abay, Thread Together founder Andie Halas, activist and author Clare Press, and sustainability expert Lottie Dalziel, the incredible winners were invited to accept their award and share their message with the room.

In the fashion category, beloved B-Corp-certified, climate positive New Zealand label Maggie Marilyn took out the crown for their sustainable fashion philosophy at ever stage of production.

Beauty’s winner was sustainable beauty pioneer Emma Lewisham for being the first in the world to offer a circular beauty recycling program.

In accessories, Natalie Marie Jewellery was honoured for their commitment to sustainable jewellery production, handmaking each piece to order and using 100 per cent recycled sterling silver and 70 per cent recycled gold.

Refillable and all-natural cleaning product brand, Pleasant State was honoured in the home and lifestyle category while alcohol brand Ugly Vodka won the Food and Drink round for its dedication to preventing food waste by using ‘ugly’ apples to make its drinks.

In parenting, we celebrated the family favourite organisation Toy Libraries Australia for providing thousands of Australian families with on-loan toys.

When it came to travel, Tasmania’s Freycinet Lodge was honoured for its innovative approach to embracing the areas’ great natural beauty while making the smallest eco-impact.

OzHarvests’s Ronni Kahn AO was also honoured as the award’s Hall Of Fame winner, for her remarkable efforts in the food waste landscape over the last 20 years.

With so many inspiring organisations and brands paving the way to a more sustainable future, there was certainly much to celebrate.

See Inside Our Sustainability Awards Event:

The fully electric Volvo EX30. VOLVO’s smallest ever SUV designed to have a small CO₂ footprint.
marie claire editor Georgie Abay wearing Maggie Marilyn
Emma Lewisham
Tash Sefton and Michelle Glew-Ross
marie claire editor Georgie Abay wearing the winner of the fashion category Maggie Marilyn
VOLVO’s Hayley McMahon, Julie Hutchinson, Andrew Cook
Lottie Dalziel
Thread Together founder Andie Halas
Clare Press and Cressida Hilken
VOLVO’s Greg Bosnich and Stephen Connor
Daniel Fitch and Natalie Marie
Fiona Nearn and Hall Of Fame winner Ronnie Kahn AO

Related stories