Latest News

Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), The Next Taylor Swift Re-Record, Out July 7

We are not prepared for this.
Loading the player...

Ever since Swifties saw the music video for ‘Bejewelled’ that alluded Speak Now would be the next album to be re-recorded, fans have been starting to prepare themselves to dive back into this so-called ‘Era’.

The original album was released back in 2010, through Big Machine Records, and features 14 songs in a completely self-written album.

For those who aren’t too familiar with writing credits, most songs are written in collaboration with other artists, to perfect the lyrics. However, after the success of Fearless, Swift decided that she wanted to challenge herself to write Speak Now entirely on her own.

Swift is re-recording her albums after they were all sold to producer Scooter Braun (despite her making it clear that she wanted to buy back the rights to her masters) under her nose. By re-recording the original tracks, the ‘Taylor’s Version’ songs are once again under Swift’s management.

Taylor Swift’s new artwork for Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) (Credit: Image: Instagram)

To announce the upcoming release of Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), Swift took to her Instagram.

“It fills me with such pride and joy to announce that my version of Speak Now will be out July 7 (just in time for July 9th, iykyk 😆),” the singer began, in reference to the song ‘Last Kiss’ on the album, which features the lyrics, “that July 9th, the beat of your heart, it jumps through your shirt, I can still feel your arms.”

She continued, “I first made Speak Now, completely self-written, between the ages of 18 and 20. The songs that came from this time in my life were marked by their brutal honesty, unfiltered diaristic confessions and wild wistfulness.”

“I love this album because it tells a tale of growing up, flailing, flying and crashing…and living to speak about it.”

However, as Taylor is known to do with her re-records, she will simultaneously be releasing six extra songs from the so-called ‘vault’ of this era. These ‘vault tracks’ refer to songs that the singer wrote at the time but that did not quite make the final cut of the album.

Taylor Swift performing her original ‘Speak Now’ tour. (Credit: Image: Getty)

“With six extra songs I’ve sprung loose from the vault, I absolutely cannot wait to celebrate Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) with you on July 7th.”

Of the six Vault tracks feature two collaborations, one with Fall Out Boy on ‘Electric Touch’ and the other with Paramore’s Hayley Williams on ‘Castles Crumbling’. The other titles include ‘When Emma Falls In Love’, ‘I Can See You’, ‘Foolish One’ and ‘Timeless’.

We are over the moon excited about this new launch which is sure to be as much as masterpiece as all her other re-recordings. 

Related stories