From Emerging To Established, These Are The Designers Nominated For A CFDA Award

Honouring the best and brightest in design.

It may not be the steps of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, but the New York style set is gearing up for another huge celebration of creativity and craftsmanship. As we speak, Park Avenue is preparing for one of the most prestigious award ceremonies in the fashion industry: the annual CFDA Fashion Awards.

Since its inception in 1980, these awards have honoured and recognised the excellence of American and international fashion designers alike. After a virtual ceremony in 2020, chairman Tom Ford has assured this year’s ceremony to be bigger and better than ever. 

Almost every bigwig in the game has won an CFDA Fashion Award – it’s a distinguished honour bestowed to only the finest and exclusive names in fashion. This year, the awards have a renewed focus on celebrating underground designers, with CFDA CEO Steven Kolb remarking “American fashion is experiencing a renewed energy, and these designers play a significant role in the future trajectory of our industry.” 

Contending for the American Emerging Designer award are first time nominees including Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen and Eli Russel Linnetz for ERL amongst others.

Although we’re not sure who will be joining the ranks of Rick Owens, Marc Jacobs and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, we do know there is an array of talent up for illustrious American Womenswear Designer of the Year and American Menswear Designer of the Year awards, including Christopher John Rodgers, Peter Do, Thom Browne and Telfar Clemens.

Those in the running for the International Women’s Designer of the Year prize are the distinguished Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino, Simone Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus and Raf Simons and Miuccia Prada for Prada. In the men’s category, Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta will compete with  Virgil Abloh of Louis Vuitton and Rick Owens.

The winners will be announced at the 2021 CFDA Awards Ceremony on November 10 at Park Avenue’s POOL + GRILL, with the ceremony hosted by the formidable and fashionable Emily Blunt.

 In the meantime, read on for all the nominees below.


The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert

Aurora James for the 15 Percent Pledge

The Environmental Sustainability Award


The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Nina Garcia

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Dapper Dan

The Board of Directors’ Tribute

Yeohlee Teng

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Catherine Holstein for Khaite
Christopher John Rogers
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Peter Do

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God
Mike Amiri for Amiri
Telfar Clemens for Telfar
Thom Browne

American Accessories Designer of the Year Nominees

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Aurora James for Brother Vellies
Gabriela Hearst
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year Nominees

Edvin Thompson for Theophilio
Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL
Jameel Mohammed for Khiry
Kenneth Nicholson
Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen

International Women’s Designer of the Year Nominees

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga
Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

International Men’s Designer of the Year Nominees

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner
Rick Owens
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Related stories