Latest News

The AFL Has Just Announced Their Inaugural Women’s Competition

Eight teams are set to make the lineup in 2017!

In history-making news for Australian sport, the AFL has announced that eight women’s teams have been granted licences to compete in the inaugural women’s AFL competition, taking place in February 2017.

Victorian clubs Carlton, Collingwood, Melbourne, and Western Bulldogs will have teams representing them in the competition. In addition, Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, Fremantle and Greater Western Sydney will be competing.

13 teams made applications to compete, however five were placed on provisional licences that could be reassessed for the 2018 competition.

AFL chairman Mike Fitzpatrick gave an announcement at the MCG to celebrate the news.

“Our game is on the cusp of changing forever and changing for the better,” he said. “The concept of a national competition has been put together in short space of time but this day has been a long time coming.

“The number of women and girls playing club football has doubled over the past five years.”

The captain of Melbourne’s team, Daisy Pearce, also had only positive things to say about the news. 

“We’ve seen on so many issues that sport is a powerful vehicle. To see women out there playing a really physical sport, at our most powerful, will [encourage change] across all of society.”

You can catch the women’s competition in February and March of next year.

Related stories