Every Single Winner From The Prestigious 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards

Christopher John Rogers leads the charge of emerging and established champions.

It’s the Oscars of the fashion industry, and after a slight hiatus, the prestigious CFDA Fashion Awards has returned to all its glory and what a site to behold.

Honouring the best and brightest American and international fashion designers, the highly coveted emerging and established creatives descended on New York’s Upper East Side for the stylish occasion.

Leading the charge was superstars Zendaya and Anya Taylor-Joy who were being honoured as the annual CFDA Fashion Icon and inaugural Face Of The Year respectively.


Taking to the ebony coloured carpet, everyone from Emily Ratajkowski (who flashed her postpartum body in this season’s Miu Miu) to the hostess with the mostess Emily Blunt (making a case for an 80s revival in a neon Christopher John Rogers pant suit) donned their finest garbs for the occasion.

Emily Blunt

Even Ashley Olsen made a surprise appearance, wearing (you guessed it) The Row.

Ashley Olsen

However the highlight of the evening was the plethora of designers acknowledged for their inimitable contributions to the industry.

Christopher John Rogers and Emily Bode walked away with the most distinguished accolades; the women’s and men’s American Designer of the Year awards.

Emily Bode

Rogers is no stranger to winning esteemed honours. He was recognised as one of the finalists of 2021 LVMH Prize and was the 2019 winner of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund.

Taking out the lauded International Women’s Designer of the Year award was Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga, to no one’s surprise.

Gvasalia, who is officially a grand couturier after his show-stopping Haute Couture collection, has reinvented womenswear with his figure hugging silhouettes and contemporary face masks.

The Georgian fashion designer beat the likes of Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada, Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino and Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus for the honour.

Read on below for every winner (along with all the nominees here) from the evening.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Christopher John Rogers

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Bode

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Edvin Thompson for Theophilio

International Women’s Designer of the Year 

Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga

International Men’s Designer of the Year

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

The Founder’s Award In Honour of Eleanor Lambert

Aurora James for the 15 Percent Pledge

The Environmental Sustainability Award


The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Nina Garcia

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Dapper Dan

The Board of Directors’ Tribute

Yeohlee Teng

Related stories